YA High Fantasy

Hello world (well, mostly those who read young adult or high fantasy). My sister and I are working on a young adult/high fantasy series. We’ve been working on it for over a year…. (you did not read that wrong). It’s difficult because we have to agree on every small detail which is not small feat. We don’t just have the fact we are sisters working against us, but artists too and if you have ever seen on of those team challenges on Project Runway, you know artists don’t play well together. Luckily, my sister and I do play well, but that does not mean we disagree. Last night we were arguing over what the basic style of some of the lands were…. Not kidding.

Anyways, I was curious if young adult fans would read something considered high fantasy (well, I suppose by virtue of being a young adult novel (thus highly character focused) maybe it’s just middle fantasy… I’ll get experts chose after it’s published). I am also curious if high fantasy readers will see the typical YA cover and not read it despite the fact we’ve spent hours over maps and culture. 

It seems I keep asking this question, this “would read blank if I wrote it?” Is that good or bad I wonder. Good because my stories are not about vampires falling for werewolves or bad because no one has written that because no one will read that…. I suppose we will find out soon enough! 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “YA High Fantasy

  1. I’ve heard the marketplace for YA and MG fantasy is starting to turn away from the vampires and werewolves that have plagued young readers for the last few years. There are certainly alternatives, but Twilight has left its mark. I believe we are ready for a Tolkien-like adventure again, with a complete world and engrossing characters.

  2. You pose an interesting topic. Should writers write what they want and then hope someone buys it, or should they conduct research to see what is selling and then write something that similar traits? Should the process of writing a book (or a screenplay or music) follow the same process as producing a tangible product? That is, should market research be done before the writing begins, or because writing a book (or screenplay or music) is “personal,” should writers not care what readers want and just write for themselves?.

    As someone who is loooooooong past the YA stage, I had to look up what YA high fantasy was. I then started reading some of the blogs, book reviews and comments out there. They may prove helpful to you in deciding whether the public will beat a path to your door to buy your book. However, if your book idea doesn’t match what is out there, would you and your sister be willing to change your content and maybe even sell your ideals (in regards to your book’s content) in exchange for increased sales? (There are advantages to writing for the masses and one of those advantages is success as a writer and maybe even a comfortable lifestyle.) Whatever you do, best of luck. Oh, and please don’t fight.

    • Haha, we try our best not to fight but we are siblings it’s what we are supposed to do. I think I understand making changes for the market’s sake but only to an extent. I think people create the need when it comes to projects. No one needed an iPod or even a TV too long ago. My sister and I need to make people feel like they need to read this series, like the Hunger Games or something.

  3. There are plenty of teens who are interested in reading high fantasy, but that shouldn’t be your first consideration. Your first order of business is to write the story that you want to read. If you do that, there are almost certainly going to be other people who will want to read it, too.

    Best of luck wth your project.

Leave a Reply

